School records by status

NCES Common Core of Data · school year 2024-2025

This page lists the count of school records for each operating status recorded in the NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 school universe file, with the school levels that make up each status.

The 8 operating status values in the file

School year 2024-2025. Each record in the file carries one operating status and the status code the file prints beside it; the counts below add up to 102178, the number of school records in the file. Each share is worked out as that count divided by 102178, times 100, to one decimal.

Operating statusStatus code in the source fileSchool recordsShare of all 102178 records (worked out: records / 102178 x 100, one decimal)
Open19925997.1%
Closed210681.0%
New38720.9%
Inactive65010.5%
Future73720.4%
Changed Boundary/Agency5480.0%
Added4340.0%
Reopened8240.0%

School levels within each status

For each operating status, the school records carrying it are counted once by their school level; the counts in each row add up to the row's record count.

Operating statusSchool recordsSchool levels and their counts
Open99259Elementary 52473, High 23549, Middle 16097, Other 4442, Prekindergarten 1546, Not reported 405, Secondary 366, Not applicable 277, Ungraded 97, Adult Education 7
Closed1068Not reported 1066, Middle 1, Prekindergarten 1
New872Elementary 299, High 250, Middle 139, Prekindergarten 75, Other 74, Secondary 24, Not reported 6, Not applicable 3, Adult Education 1, Ungraded 1
Inactive501Not reported 501
Future372Not reported 356, Prekindergarten 5, Middle 4, Elementary 3, High 2, Other 1, Secondary 1
Changed Boundary/Agency48Elementary 18, High 13, Other 9, Middle 8
Added34High 10, Other 9, Elementary 7, Prekindergarten 4, Middle 3, Secondary 1
Reopened24Elementary 12, High 7, Middle 2, Not applicable 1, Other 1, Prekindergarten 1

Source: U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), Common Core of Data (CCD), 2024-25 Public Elementary/Secondary School Universe Survey directory file ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025 (school year 2024-2025), fetched 2026-11-05. The source file, its link, the fetch date and the licence are named on the About page.

All states · Charter records · School types · Schools by grade offered · Home